Web-Site: CSCOC.org
Web-Store: cafepress.com/cscoc

April, 2006

CSCOC Newsletter

Editor: Mindy Donovan-Tandy E-Mail: MLDT@earthlink.net

The following are the objectives which this Club honors and abides by:

o encourage and promote the breeding of pure-bred Cocker Spaniels and to do all possible to bring their natural qualities to perfection:

o urge members and breeders to accept the standard of the breed as approved by the American Kennel Club as the only standard of excellence by which Cocker Spaniels shall be judged:

o do all in its power to protect
and advance the interests of
the breed by encouraging sportsmanlike competition at dog shows,
obedience trials and field trials.

o conduct sanctioned and licensed specialty shows, ohedience trials, and field trials under the rules of the American Kennel Club.

GENERAL NEWS

2005 Club Awards

Congratulations to all the members who received CSCOC Awards at our April Awards Dinner. A list of the winners is published in this issue. Also, many thanks to Bea Jones for again coordinating the compilation of awards and coordinating our annual event.

Board Officers Nominations

The nominating committee has selected their recommendations for the open positions of the Board for the years 2006-2008. Please see the enclosed nomination letter for detailed information.

Nominations will be taken from the floor at the May General Meeting. Any of those nominated at the May Meeting must be in attendance to accept.

The board election will take place by secret ballot at the June General Meeting.

Membership Dues

Membership dues statements will be mailed out in the May Newsletter. Please note that dues are payable upon receipt. Please look for your statements in next month's issue.

Inside this issue:

General News

Upcoming May Events

May Meeting Info

Brags

UPCOMING MEETINGS

Board Meeting

Tuesday, April 25, 2006



General Meeting

Tuesday, May 2, 2006 7:30pm Page 1 CSCOC Newsletter

GENERAL NEWS (CONT'D)

2006 Summer Specialty

Special Raffle: Tickets are being distributed by Mindy Donovan-Tandy for sale for the IPOD Raffle Prize.

If you need more tickets to purchase and/or to sell, please contact Mindy at MLDT@earthlink.net. Please turn in your stubs and money to Mindy

Regular Raffle Donations: Remember to start gathering items for the Regular Raffle. They don't have to be dogrelated. Chairpersons, Patti Auld & Lisa Pino will be gathering the items and coordinating the raffle.

Catalog Advertising: This year's catalog will again be a combined catalog with West Coast. Make it the best one ever! Get your ads into Bea Jones —

Deadline: May 19, 2006



CSCOC Christmas Dinner

We are looking for a volunteer to coordinate our annual event. If you are interested in planning this fun time, please contact Julie Virosteck.

Meeting Locations

Wonder where that next CSCOC Meeting is going to be, so you can plan on attending? Here is the current list for upcoming meeting locations (subject to change):

June 2006: Mindy & Jerry Tandy

July 2006: Canceled August 2006: Lois Wilson September 2006: Open

October 2006: Quinn Ruvacava

November 2006: Open

December 2006: TBA—Xmas Dinner

January 2007: Canceled

February 2007: Mindy & Jerry Tandy

March 2007: Open April 2007: Open May 2007: Open



New Titles (Conformation, Rally & Agility):

- Ch. Peri's Legally Blonde (Virginia Gilleland)
- Ch. Omni's Nor-Jac's Touch of Gold (Norris & Jackie Williams)
- Ch. Lace's Sugar Cookie (Linda Praznik)
- Ch. Doggone Off Like A Shot OA OAJ CGC (Jerry & Mindy Tandy)
- Bizzmar Hamlet CD RA OA NAJ (Linda Hulbert)

Dam Of The Year (5 Champions):

Ch. Carousel Surely You Jest (Geri Roy)

Sire Of The Year (6 Champions):

Ch. Jo-Bea's Diamond Trader (Hap & Bea Jones)

Best of Variety (ASCOB):

Ch. Peri's Legally Blonde (Virginia Gilleland)

Member Of The Year:

Quinn Ruvacava

Jr. Showman Of The Year:

Scott Tandy

Top Winning Dog Of The Year:

Ch. Peri's Legally Blonde (Virginia Gilleland)

REMINDERS

Future Meeting Reminders

- June General Meeting: As Scheduled -June 6, 2006
- June Board Meeting As Scheduled -June 27, 2006
- July General Meeting Canceled



News Clips

If you have any articles you'd like to share with the membership, please mail them to Mindy to have them published in the newsletter.

Newsletter Subscriptions

If you know of someone interested in Cockers and our Club's activities, perhaps they would like to receive a complimentary 3-month subscription. Please forward their name and address to Mindy.

For a 12-month subscription, please forward a \$10.00 check pay able to CSCOC to the Newsletter Editor:

Mindy Donov an-Tandy, Newsletter Editor

"E-News letter"

If you are interested in receiving your newsletter via email rather than snail mail or in being removed from the e-newsletter online distribution, please contact Mindy at MLDT@earthlink.net

MAY EVENTS

Date	Event	Judge
5/6 - 5/7	Rio Hondo Kennel Club Pomona, CA	Donald Sturz Thomas Tracy
5/6 - 5/7	Hollywood Dog Obedience Club AKC Agility Trial Lakeview Terrace, CA	Melodie Sudick Peter Liu
5/14	Shoreline Dog Fanciers Assoc. San Juan Capistrano, CA	Dave Flannigan
5/13 -5/14	Dog Agility Club of Chino AKC Agility Trial Rancho Cucamonga, CA	Kim Thomas Simmons Tamara Fields Domico
5/19	Cocker Spaniel Club of San Diego San Diego, CA	LaMar Mathis
5/19 5/20 - 5/21	-	LaMar Mathis Terry DePietro Thomas Bradley
	San Diego, CA Cabrillo Kennel Club	Terry DePietro

CSCOC Board Members

President:

Julie Virosteck

Vice-President:

Mindy Donovan-Tandy

Secretary:

Marleta McFarlane

Treasurer:

Jerry Tandy

De legate:

Bea Jones

De legate:

Quinn Ruvacava

Delegate:

Lois Wilson

De legate:

Doug McFarlane

Past-President:

Hap Jones



Cocker Spaniel Club of Orange County, Inc.

April 22, 2006

FROM: MARLETA MC FARLANE, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF

DIRECTORS 2006 - 2008

In compliance with our By-Laws, the Nomination Committee, chaired by Ms. Quinn Ruvacava, held a meeting and submits the following names for Officers and Board Members for 2006-2008.

PRESIDENT: - Hap Jones (2 Year Term) - Mindy Donovan-Tandy VICE-PRESIDENT: (2 Year Term) SECRETARY: - Marleta McFarlane (2 Year Term) TREASURER: - Jerry Tandy (2 Year Term) PAST PRESIDENT: - Julie Virosteck (2 Year Term) DELEGATE: - Doug Mc Farlane (2 Year Term) DELEGATE: - Quinn Ruvacava (2 Year Term)

Board Members who were elected for 2 year terms last year and who will be eligible for re-election in 2007 are:

DELEGATE: - Bea Jones (2 Year Term)

DELEGATE: - Lois Wilson (2 Year Term)

According to our By-Laws, Article IV, Section 4E: "Additional nominations may be made at the May Meeting by any member in attendance provided that the person so nominated does not decline when his name is proposed, and provided further that if the proposed candidate is not in attendance at this meeting, his proposer shall present to the Secretary a written statement from the proposed candidate signifying his willingness to be a candidate. No person may be a candidate for more than one position, and the additional nominations which are provided for herein may be made only from those members who have not accepted a nomination of the Nominating Committee."

Elections of the new Officers and Board Members will be held at the June 2005 Meeting by secret, written ballot from those nominated in accordance with Section 4 of Article IV. They shall take office immediately upon the conclusion of the election. Only members who are in good standing, whose dues are paid for the current year, are entitled to vote.

Marleta Mc Farlane Secretary, CS COC